Live, fresh or frozen crab

Crab is a crustacean particularly prized by chefs and seafood lovers for its delicate and sweet flesh. In Quebec, the most popular crab is the snow crab from our coasts, available alive and fresh during the season, and in frozen whole legs or meat throughout the year. You will also find frozen Alaskan King crab legs, seasonal softshell crab and Dungeness crab, and fresh crab meat to make delicious crab cakes!

Learn more

illustration-crustaces

Wave

Quebec Snow Crab

Snow crab available online and in-store is the live or fresh snow crab cooked during the Quebec Snow Crab season, in the spring of each year for a short period of time. We have been working for more than 30 years with the best fishermen and processors in Quebec, mainly in Rimouski and Sept-Isles.  The size of the crab offered is the largest available: the extra wide 3L crab, 10 to 12 ounces per section, or 2L wide, from 8 to 10 ounces per section.

Cook live snow crab

You bought a live snow crab, a frozen Alaskan crab leg, or fresh crab meat, and you wonder what to do with it?

If you prefer to cook the crab yourself, for Cooking - Prepare 4 liters (16 cups) of water and 60 ml (1/4 cup) of coarse salt for cooking. Bring the water to a boil and place the crab in it. Cook for 6 minutes.

Follow our expert advice on the following links to learn all about crab, its origins, preparation and cooking methods, and sublime recipes from our fellow chefs!

Cooked crab

Crab is often sold cooked and frozen, a method that helps maintain quality. Since it is already cooked, be careful not to overcook it by warming it. It is recommended that you gradually thaw your frozen crab over several hours, and not to collect the crab if your recipe allows you to eat the cold crab. If you want to reheat it, you can dip it in boiling water for 2 minutes, or crack it and bake it in the oven covered with garlic butter, for example. Avoid overcooking and drying the flesh unnecessarily.

Crab recipes

Good quality crab can be eaten very well simply cooked and shelled, with a sauce, and in recipes like classic crab cakes or crab salad.

Crab recipes

Snow crab

Crabe vivant, frais ou congelé

Le crabe est un crustacé particulièrement prisé par les chefs et les amateurs de fruits de mer pour sa chair délicate et sucrée. Au Québec, le crabe le plus populaire est le crabe des neiges de nos côtes, disponible vivant et frais pendant la saison, et en pattes ou chair congelées pendant toute l'année. Retrouvez aussi les grandes pattes de crabe d'Alaska congelées, le crabe mou et le crabe Dungeness vivant en saison, et la chair de crabe fraîche pour faire de délicieux gateaux de crabe!

En savoir plus

illustration-crustaces

vague

Le crabe des neiges du Québec

Le crabe des neiges offert en ligne et en magasin est le crabe des neiges vivant ou frais cuit pendant la saison du Crabe des Neiges du Québec, au printemps de chaque année pendant une période courte. Nous travaillons depuis plus de 30 ans avec les meilleurs pêcheurs et transformateurs du Québec, principalement à Rimouski et à Sept-Îles.  La taille du crabe offert est le plus grand disponible: le crabe 3L extra large, de 10 à 12 onces par section, ou 2L large, de 8 à 10 onces par section. 

Cuire le crabe des neiges vivant

Vous avez acheté un crabe des neiges vivant, une patte de crabe d'Alaska congelé, ou la chair de crabe fraîche, et vous vous demandez quoi en faire?

Si vous préférez cuire le crabe vous même, pour La cuisson - Préparer 4 litres (16 tasses) d'eau et 60 ml (1/4 tasse) de gros sel pour la cuisson. Amener l'eau à ébullition, y déposer le crabe. Faire cuire 6 minutes.

Suivez nos conseils d'experts sur les liens suivants pour tout apprendre sur le crabe, ses origines, les méthodes de préparation et de cuisson, et des recettes sublimes de la part de nos chefs partenaires! 

Le crabe cuit

Le crabe est souvent vendu cuit puis congelé, une méthode qui permet de mieux conserver la qualité. Vu qu'il est déjà cuit, il faut faire attention de ne pas le surcuire en le réchauffant. On vous recommande de décongeler progressivement sur plusieurs heures votre crabe congelé, et de ne pas le recuire le crabe si votre recette permet de manger le crabe froid. Si vous désirez le réchauffer, vous pouvez le plonger dans l'eau bouillante pendant 2 minutes, ou le craquer et le cuire au four couvert de beurre à l'ail, par exemple. Il faut éviter de trop cuire et de faire sécher la chair inutilement. 

Recettes de crabe

Le crabe de bonne qualité se déguste très bien simplement cuit et décortiqué, avec une sauce, et en recettes comme les gateaux de crabe classique ou la salade de crabe. 

Recettes de crabe

Crabe des neiges