Your source for the best Quebec Lobster

Quebec lobster fishing in the Gaspé areas 20A and 20B is underway! The cages are already in the water and we anticipate the first arrivals at the beginning of the first week of May 2022.

Why the delay between the opening of the fishing and the arrival in store? This is because lobster must be conditioned and purged in tanks after being caught, for a minimum of 48 hours, to ensure its quality before it can be sold for consumption.

Our live lobster is coming several times a week from Gaspé, Anticosti Island or the Magdalen Islands during the season, regions with the best lobsters in the world.

In our tanks you will only find live lobsters with hard shells, size 1.5lbs and more. No soft or small lobsters!

Buy your live or fresh lobster cooked by our chef. You can also find premium quality frozen lobster tails and lobster meat from Canada in store! 

Learn more

illustration-fruits-de-mer

vague

How to Cook Lobster

Lobster can be cooked in a number of ways, including steamed or boiled. It is also possible to grill lobster! Steaming is preferred by our chef because it retains the natural taste and tenderness of the lobster. Cooking time varies depending on the size of the lobster.

Don't have time to prepare your lobster? We have freshly cooked lobster available in store every day. Please order in advance online if you would like us to cook and crack your lobster to order, free of charge!

Lobster Recipes

Follow our expert advice on the following links to learn all about lobster, where it comes from, how it is prepared and cooked, and sublime recipes from our partner chefs!

Lobster Recipes

Lobster Prices

Lobster prices may vary depending on the season and availability, and especially global demand since it is exported all over the world. In Quebec, the fishermen's association negotiates a price with buyers (transformers, distributors, etc.) at the beginning of the season. Lobster is generally less expensive in season (May-June) and more expensive for the rest of the year.

Fishermen, like everyone else, are facing increases in the cost of gasoline, bait, and labor. According to experts, the lobster price in 2022 should be a little higher than last year, without however knowing a dazzling increase as we saw on snow crab at the start of the season. The lobster price should stabilize after the opening of more fishing areas in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine and on the north shore in mid-May.

Did you know that the majority (around 75%) of the lobster caught in Quebec is consumed by the local market?

Homard des Îles

Votre source pour le meilleur homard du Québec

La pêche au homard du Québec dans les zones gaspésiennes 20A et 20B est en cours! Les cages sont déjà dans l'eau et nous anticipons les premiers arrivages en début de la première semaine de mai 2022.

Pourquoi le délai entre l'ouverture de la pêche et l'arrivée en Poissonnerie? C'est parce que le homard doit être conditionné et purgé dans des viviers après la pêche, pendant un minimum de 48 heures, pour en assurer la qualité avant qu'il puisse être vendu pour la consommation.

Notre homard vivant arrive plusieurs fois par semaine de Gaspé, de l'île d'Anticosti ou des Îles-de-la-Madeleine en saison, les régions avec les meilleurs homards au monde. Dans nos viviers vous ne trouverez que des homards vivants à carapace dûre de taille moyenne ou grande, 1.5lbs et plus. Pas de petits homards mous!

Achetez votre homard vivant ou frais cuit par notre chef. Retrouvez aussi en magasin les queues de homard et la chair de homard congelées de première qualité en provenance du Canada!

En savoir plus

illustration-fruits-de-mer

vague

Cuisson du homard

Le homard peut être cuit de plusieurs manières, incluant à la vapeur ou à l'eau bouillante. Il est aussi possible de griller le homard! La cuisson à la vapeur est préférée par notre chef, car elle conserve mieux le goût naturel et la tendreté du homard. Le temps de cuisson varie selon la taille du homard. 

Vous n'avez pas le temps de préparer votre homard? Nous faisons cuire du homard frais tous les jours en magasin. Sur les commandes en ligne, la cuisson et la coupe du homard d'avance sont offerts! 

Recettes de homard

Suivez nos conseils d'experts sur les liens suivants pour tout apprendre sur le homard, sa provenance, les méthodes de préparation et de cuisson, et des recettes sublimes de la part de nos chefs partenaires!  

Recettes de homard

Le prix du homard

Le prix du homard peut varier en fonction de la saison et de la disponibilité, et surtout de la demande globale. Au Québec, l'association des pêcheurs négocie un prix avec les acheteurs (transformateurs, distributeurs, etc). Le homard est généralement moins cher en saison (mai-juin) et plus cher pendant le reste de l'année. 

Les pêcheurs, comme tout le monde, font face à des augmentations du prix de l'essence, des appâts, et de la main d'oeuvre. Selon les experts, le prix du homard en 2022 devrait être un peu plus élevé que l'année dernière, sans toutefois connaître une hausse fulgurante comme on a vu sur le crabe des neiges en début de saison. Le prix du homard devrait se stabiliser après l'ouverture de plus de zones de pêche aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine et sur la Côte Nord à la mi-mai.

Saviez-vous que la majorité (environ 75%) du homard pêché au Québec est consommé par le marché local?

Homard des Îles